DOCJT Public Safety Dispatch Academy Class 127 Graduates

(Aug. 30, 2019) – Twenty-two law enforcement dispatchers graduated Friday from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The graduates hail from communications centers across the state, and comprise DOCJT’s 127th telecommunications academy class, which first began in 1999.

The students graduating from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy represent the successful completion of a highly structured and comprehensive curriculum. The five weeks of training consisted of 205 hours of academy instruction to satisfy mandated training requirements.

Major training areas included identifying the role and responsibilities of the dispatcher, correct phone and radio procedures, handling emergency and non-emergency calls for service, emergency medical dispatch protocols and use of the state and national criminal databases.

This class included five trainees of distinction. To earn this recognition, a student must not fail any tested area, not receive any disciplinary action, earn an evaluation rating of acceptable in every observed category and score an average of 95 percent or higher on all academic tests. Students who achieve this distinction are given a special academy pin to wear on their uniforms.

Additionally, Madison County E-911 Dispatcher Joy Lowery received the academic achievement award and Dispatcher Kenneth Lewis, of the Elliott County E-911, received the coordinator’s award.

Dispatch basic training is mandatory for any sworn or civilian employee who will dispatch law enforcement officers by radio at a Criminal Justice Information Systems agency. DOCJT also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky public safety dispatchers and law enforcement officers.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013.

Class 127 graduates and their agencies are:

Jerrica Adkins Lewis County EMA-911

Cassie Clarkson Barren-Metcalfe ECC

Mykaila Ronea Dean Frankfort/Franklin County 911

Noah Dishman Monticello/Wayne County 911

Jessica L. Fister Webster County 911

Clayton Jay Fraley Greenup County E-911

Audrey Goodman Frankfort/Franklin County 911

Jordan Harris Corbin Police Department

Joshua Hatfield Cynthiana-Harrison County E-911

Jessica Danielle Hay Maysville Police Department

Kaitlyn A. Howard Madison County E-911

David R. Judd Greensburg Police Department

Kenneth Randolph Lewis Elliott County E-911

Joy D. Lowery Madison County E-911 (trainee of distinction)

Joshua R. Martin Boone County Public Safety Center

Lois J. Merry Hardin County 911

Auston C. Scutt City of Paducah E-911 (trainee of distinction)

Maureen Sixbury Breckinridge County Sheriff’s Office (trainee of distinction)

Hillary Stephen City of Paducah E-911

Amanda M. Thornton Bracken County E-911

Katherine Whitaker Elizabethtown Police Department (trainee of distinction)

David A. Wiglesworth Cynthiana-Harrison County E-911 (trainee of distinction)

Leave a Reply