Andy Beshear

Beshear Joins Coalition Urging Congress to Fund Civil Legal Aid

Beshear and the coalition wrote letters to the U.S. House and U.S. Senate Committees on Appropriations requesting funding for the Legal Services Corporation (LSC) in the Fiscal Year 2020 Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

There are four LSC grantees serving Kentucky families in all regions of the state, which include the Legal Aid Society, Legal Aid of the Bluegrass, the Appalachian Research and Defense Fund of Kentucky and Kentucky Legal Aid.

“Through this bipartisan coalition, I am working to ensure LSC receives the funds necessary to continue helping our Kentucky families in need,” Beshear said. “From families who are facing foreclosure to our brave veterans and survivors of domestic violence, LSC helps to ensure Kentuckians are able to seek justice and have their voices heard.”

LSC provides millions of dollars in funding to legal aid organizations that serve and support low-income individuals, veterans and military families, seniors, survivors of domestic violence, victims of natural disasters, and disabled individuals.

LSC distributes more than 90 percent of its funding to 132 independent nonprofit legal aid programs with more than 800 offices. A bipartisan board of directors, whose 11 members are appointed by the president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate, compromises the LSC.

Last year, Beshear joined a bipartisan coalition of 38 state attorneys general calling on Congress to provide funding to LSC. Letters written to the U.S. House and U.S. Senate Committees on Appropriations requested funding for the corporation in the Fiscal Year 2019. Congress supplied LSC with $415 million for FY 2019.

Additional states in the coalition include Massachusetts, Montana, Alaska, American Samoa, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.

Leave a Reply