KY African American Heritage Commission to Meet

The Kentucky African American Heritage Commission will meet at 1 p.m. (EST) Thursday, March 8, at the Administrative Office of the Courts, 1001 Vandalay Drive, Frankfort. The commission is administratively attached to the Kentucky Heritage Council/State Historic Preservation Office.

Commission members are Gerald Smith, Lexington, Chair; John A. Hardin, Bowling Green, Vice Chair; Howard E. Bailey, Bowling Green; Betty Baker-Wharton, Cadiz; David S. Benders and Kilen K. Gray, Shelbyville; Rodney Bennett, W. Maurice Brown and Cynthia Shelton, Frankfort; Samuel R. Coleman, Jr., Middlesboro; Jerry E. Cowherd, Greensburg; Richard B. Fowler, Wilder; Natalie Gibson, Lexington; Angela R. Nance, Lebanon; Carolyn Sundy, Lynch; Timothy W. Thomas, Madisonville; and Alicestyne Turley, Richmond.

The commission was established to identify and promote awareness of significant African American influences upon the history and culture of the Commonwealth and to support and encourage the preservation of Kentucky African American heritage and historic sites.

Meetings are open to the public and an agenda is attached. For more, contact Tressa Brown, Kentucky African American Heritage Coordinator, at 502-564-7005, ext. 4467.

Leave a Reply