Twenty-One Law Enforcement Executives Graduate from DOCJT’s CJED Program

Twenty-one law enforcement executives from agencies across Kentucky graduated Friday from the Criminal Justice Executive Development program, an advanced leadership course designed for supervisors at small- and medium-size agencies from across the state.

Bowling Green Police Deputy Chief Kevin Wiles served as guest speaker.

The 21 graduates comprised the Department of Criminal Justice Training’s 21st CJED class. Alexandria Police Sgt. Lucas Cooper served as class speaker.

CJED is a four-week, 168-hour program that focuses on identifying, analyzing and solving problems as well as leadership, personnel administration, operations, fiscal management, executive and environmental relationships.

The purpose of the course is to provide students with the academic background, leadership skills and management techniques required for the future. Each session enhances leadership abilities and encourages the development of visionary thinkers.

To take part in CJED, potential students must be supervisors who rank sergeant or above. They must apply for entrance into the program and be selected by a committee of CJED graduates from across the commonwealth.

Students attend CJED courses for one week each month for four months.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

CJED 21 graduates* and their agencies are:
Jennifer R. Arbogast, Glasgow Police Department

Jacob W. Boyle, Independence Police Department

Ryan C. Burnam, Bowling Green Police Department

Lucas T. Cooper, Alexandria Police Department

Todd C. Dearmond, Hopkinsville Police Department

Ronnie W. Gross, Southgate Police Department

Gregory P. Haigis, Highland Heights Police Department

David Norio Hampton, Kenton County Sheriff’s Office

Timothy W. Hurt, Simpsonville Police Department

Neil B. Johnson, Oldham County Police Department

Daniel Lehman, Henderson Police Department

Gregory D. Lowry, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport Police

Jeremy Keith McQueary, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources

Jason A. Moore, Ashland Police Department

Kyle R. Rader, Erlanger Police Department

Michael D. Taylor, Bellevue Police Department

William Travis Tennill, Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training

Devin L. Thomas, Richmond Police Department

Ryan Walenga, Henderson Police Department

Stephen C. Wechtenhiser, Owensboro Police Department

Justin Weitholter, Covington Police Department

Leave a Reply