Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training graduates 29 officers from Basic Training Academy

Twenty-nine law enforcement officers from agencies across the state graduated today from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The graduates of Class 487 completed 23 weeks of training, which consisted of 923 hours of recruit-level instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid and CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and the mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 487 graduates and their agencies are:

Jacob Barnes, Berea Police Department
Zachary Beasley, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Michael Bell, Bellefonte Police Department
Colton Black, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office
Joshua Blackburn, Simpson County Sheriff’s Office
Kyle Bradshaw, Bullitt County Sheriff’s Office
Adam Centers, Woodford County Sheriff’s Office
Aaron Creager, Owensboro Police Department
Jeffrey Decker, Bardstown Police Department
*Kelsey Embry, Owensboro Police Department
Kevin Green, Mayfield Police Department
*Richard Hash, Morganfield Police Department
Jesse Hicks, Murray Police Department
Kalin Holland, Ft. Thomas Police Department
Kevin Johnson, Radcliff Police Department
Brandon Martin, Prestonsburg Police Department
James Mayfield, Somerset Police Department
Gary Merrill, Paris Police Department
Trevor Morrison, Glasgow Police Department
Andrew O’Bryan, Owensboro Police Department
Douglas Paquin, Berea Police Department
Andrew Pile, Bardstown Police Department
Adam Prince, Pendleton County Sheriff’s Office
Nathan Reinhardt, Pendleton County Sheriff’s Office
Elliott Taylor, Glasgow Police Department
*Nicholas Taylor, Somerset Police Department
*Timothy Thacker, Princeton Police Department
Jonathan Tucker, Paris Police Department
Rafique Wilson, Russellville Police Department

* indicates recruit of distinction

Leave a Reply