Twenty-Three Officers Graduate from Sergeant’s Course


Law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth were recognized today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, budgeting, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 68th to complete APS since the program began in 2003.
Boone County Sheriff’s Sgt. Michael A. Rankin served as class speaker.

APS is a stepping stone to DOCJT’s Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

APS Class 68 graduates and their agencies are:

Sgt. Joshua Avery, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife
Lt. Debbie Belcher, Franklin Police Department
Cpl. Chris Billiter, Florence Police Department
Sgt. Johnathan Brown, Mt. Washington Police Department
Sgt. Michael L. Clark, Nelson County Sheriff’s Office
Sgt. Rufus Cravens Jr., Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife
Sgt. Chad Drane, Kentucky Department of Parks, Ranger Division
Sgt. Nathan V. Fuson, Independence Police Department
Sgt. Chad Girdler, Erlanger Police Department
Sgt. Mark Hammonds, Morehead Police Department
Cpl. Ryan Harvey, Florence Police Department
Sgt. Michael R. Havens, Oak Grove Police Department
Sgt. Andy Hyett, Cold Spring Police Department
Sgt. David Lillich, Dayton Police Department
Sgt. Carroll Morrow, Henderson County Sheriff’s Office
Sgt. Joshua A. Nash, Georgetown Police Department
Sgt. Michael A. Rankin, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Sgt. James Richardson, Hodgenville Police Department
Sgt. Lonny Sams, Berea Police Department
Sgt. Amanda Seelye, Louisville Metro Police Department
Sgt. Andreas H. Shabaan, Louisville Metro Police Department
Sgt. Robert O. Simposon, Ashland Police Department
Sgt. Joey R. Sparkman, Kentucky Department of Parks, Ranger Division

Leave a Reply