Leonard Hays Jr.

Leonard Hays Jr.
Leonard Hays Jr.

Leonard E. Hays Jr.

Leonard E. Hays Jr. 82, husband of Lois Hays passed away peacefully on Wednesday August 26, 2015. He was the son of Leonard E. Hays Sr. and Bonnie Johnson Hays, born July 10, 1933 at Tyner in Jackson County, Kentucky.

As a child he attended a one room school. He later attended Tyner High School in Jackson County.
He served his country in the United States Armed Forces from 1954-1956.

He married Lois Mullins on July 19, 1956 and in 1963 moved his family to Berea where in 1969 he established and operated Hays Furniture until his retirement. He contributed to his community in many ways. He was elected to Berea City Council in 1975, served on Berea Planning and Zoning, was appointed to the Zoning and Adjustment board and was a commissioner on the Board of Southern Madison Water from 1986 to 1993. He became a member of Berea Rotary in 1990 and received the Paul Harris Fellow award. He was listed in the Who’s Who in Kentucky in 1974 and was commissioned as a Kentucky Colonel in August 1992. He was of the Baptist faith and attended Emmanuel Baptist Church.

Mr. Hays was preceded in death by his parents, infant brother, his brother Robert D. Hays, two sisters Dale Hellard and Alice Curry, brother-in-law Gerald Mullins and his cousin and best friend Glenn D. Hays.

He is survived by his loving and devoted wife of 59 years, Lois, three daughters Linda Hays, Lesha Hays and Lorna (Scott) Crane, six grandchildren Lorinda Cowen, Lindsay Starnes, Logan Arnold, Lauren Page Arnold, Leslie Crane Freeman and Lacy Crane, three great grandchildren Lexys, Layna and Layton. One brother David (Modena) Hays and one sister June Ingram also survive him.

Funeral services will be held on Saturday, August 29, 2015 at 11:00 am at Lakes Funeral Home Berea with Brothers Calvin Hays and Joey Kays officiating. Burial will follow in the Madison County Memorial Gardens. Visitation will be from 6-9 pm on Friday August 28, 2015 at the funeral home.

Active pallbearers will be Billy Linville, Logan Arnold, Chase Freeman, Wally Hays, Clint Ayers and Larry Harrison. Honorary bearers will be Danny Isaacs, Charles Gary Sparks, Bob Smith, Manuel Lakes, Blue Lakes, Murrell Lakes, Harold Bowman, Marvin Farmer, Shorty VanWinkle, Sam Fothergill, Greg Coyle and Donnie Hale.

Leave a Reply