Richmond Raceway’s 28th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels “Butterball” Memorial

Richmond Raceway
Richmond Raceway

Richmond Raceway’s 28th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial Set for Saturday July 18, 2015

-Event Will Be Sanctioned by the Southern Nationals Bonus Series-

Richmond, KY- December 17, 2014- Richmond Raceway promoters Larry, Chad, and Sarah Yantz are pleased to announce the date for the 28th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial event for 2015 at the 3/10 mile clay oval known as “The Beast of the East”.

The 28th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial event will take place on Saturday July 18, 2015 and will be sanctioned by the Ray Cook promoted Southern Nationals Bonus Series for the very first time. The race will be 60 laps in distance and pay the winner $10,028 to win that evening and will pay $500 to start, making it the richest to win event in the storied history of Richmond Raceway, with a minimum starting field of 22 cars. Joining the Super Late Models for this event will be the track’s Modified and KDRA Super Stock divisions, with Modifieds racing for $1,000 to win and KDRA Super Stocks racing for $800 to win.

Also of note, there will be a series of events known as “Butterball” qualifying events that will lead up to the running of the race on Saturday July 18, 2015 and more details will be released on those events at a later date. The 2015 Richmond Raceway track schedule is nearing completion and will also be released in the very near future.

The “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial event has become one of the must-see events for dirt racing fans throughout this region of the United States. The event began in 1988 after Mr. Wooldridge, a long time supporter and competitor at Richmond Raceway and a National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame member, passed away on Christmas Day of 1987, with Brian Asbury of Mitchell, IN winning the inaugural event. Jim Curry of Norman, IN was the race winner in 1989, while Ray Godsey of Bedford, IN won the race in 1990. Kevin Claycomb was the race victor in 1991, with Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, IN scoring the first of his event-record nine wins in the race in 1992. The late Jack Boggs of Grayson, KY won the event in 1993, followed by Jewell taking his second win in the race in 1994, with Johnny Wheeler of Campbellsville, KY taking the victory in 1995. After back-to-back wins by Jewell in 1996 and 1997, Delane Browning of East Bernstadt, KY scored the victory in 1998. Jewell would win the event again from 1999 through 2001, while Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN would score the victory in the 2002 race. Jewell would win his eighth “Butterball” in 2003 before Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN would collect his first win in the event in 2004. Tim Tungate of Campbellsville, KY would hit paydirt in the race in 2005, with Ben Adkins of West Portsmouth, OH scoring the event victory in 2006. Tungate would become only the second driver to score multiple wins in the race with his 2007 win, followed by Victor Lee of Danville, KY winning the race in 2008. Marlar would become the third repeat winner of the event with his 2009 win, while Lee would add his name to the list of multiple-time winners with his win in the 2010 event. Josh McGuire of Grayson, KY would become the fifth different driver to score more than one victory in the race with back-to-back wins in 2011 and 2012. Jewell would score his record ninth event win in 2013, while Billy Moyer, Jr. of Batesville, AK claimed the most recent win in the race in 2014.

For more information about Richmond Raceway in Richmond, KY, contact track co-promoter Larry Yantz at (606) 510-5331 or track co-promoter Chad Yantz at (606) 510-4836 or by social media at or via Facebook at

Leave a Reply